jueves, 7 de febrero de 2013

The Four (4) Levels of Vak (Speech)

08 November 2012, 01:05 AM
TatTvamAsi's Avatar
Join Date: January 2008
Location: USA

The Four (4) Levels of Vak (Speech)

So I've been reading a few tidbits here and there about speech in Hindu dharma and I came across an interesting post by someone in another forum/group.

There are four levels of speech, or rather, thought.

It initiates the journey in Brahman as Para and then gets filtered through the body of the VirAt PuruSA culminating in the nAbhI (navel) as PaSyantI and then into subtle thought as Madhyama and then finally manifests itself as sound at the VaikhArI level.

By the way, this ties directly into the importance of mantrA and why the proper recitation with the correct sIkSa (pronunciation), chanda (meter), and swarA (tone) are vital. Otherwise, the mantrA is rendered useless and in certain cases, can be harmful to the person reciting it. This is why the importance of gurU is also there; this message can be transmitted only from gurU to initiated siSyA (as they do in Upanayana Samskar).

Can anyone give a more detailed explanation of each of these levels and what their pertinence is? What are the Scriptures that discuss these?

So, to recap, the four levels are:

1.) Para (Brahman)
2.) PaSyantI (VirAt PuruSA/ViSnU)
3.) MadhyamA
4.) VaikhArI

It seems like sound or speech is the manifestation of thought. That is why we have to be "careful" with our speech. Boy, I have some learning to do. heheh.

Last edited by TatTvamAsi : 08 November 2012 at 02:21 AM.

29 November 2012, 06:04 AM
anirvan's Avatar
New Member
Join Date: December 2010
Location: Delhi,India

Re: The Four (4) Levels of Vak (Speech)

Shabda is brahman.before creation, there was only light,and THEN this light manifest into NADA-BINDU WHICH WAS UNDIFFERENTIATED.

The Bindu is param-shiva, and the Nada is parama-prakriti-kundalini-bhagabati shakti.

This Adi prakriti is also called Para-prakriti adya-shakti and NADA-RUPA.She is sitting at the Muladhara lotus. From this Paraprakriti,pancha-mahabhoota manifested.and the starting Maha-bhoota is AKASHA(sky).The nature of Akasha is Shabda(sound).

So the earliest undifferentiated Tattva is SOUND. And from this Shound(sukhma-maha-akash tattva) ,everything and anything gets manifested subsequently like other 4 maha-bhoota etc.(NADATMAKAM JAGAT".)

The other name of NADA is PARA.This PARA VAK originates from Mula-dhara chakra.When it ascends to SWADHISTHAN,it is called PASYANTI,at ANAHATA CHAKRA its MADHYAMA, and in mouth (BISUDDHA CHAKRA) it BAIKHARI.

In Bisuddha chakra,sits BAK-ATM.when any emotion/thought arise in our mind,the consciousness/knowledge of this vaktma takes the form of sound-Vaikhari.

Swayam prakashya pasyanti sushumnashrita bhavet"
Sauba hridpankajam prapya madhyama nadaroopini".

Tha nada brahman arise spontaneously from muladhara padma and ascend through susumna upot Anahat.And at Anahat it becomes ANAHATA DHWANI(AN-AHAT-means without striking,sound arise).

This nada which spontaneously arise from ANAHAT is called "SOHAM-HANSAM).

If one can meditate ,he will able to hear this pranab shabda and listening deeper and deeper one will enter Samadhi.The easy way to hear this pranab are,1-bhramari pranayama,and 2-Navi-dhyana.

Even chanting Japa continuously,one gradually go deeper and deeper from vaikhari to madhyama then pasyanti and finally Para into kundalini.

Man-naathah Shri Jagan-nathah Mat-guru-shri jagad-guruhu.
Mad-atma sarva-bhutatma tasmai Shri Gurave Namah.

My Lord is the Lord of Universe; My teacher is the teacher of the
entire universe; and my Self is the Self of all. My salutations at the lotus-feet
of such a Guru, who has revealed such knowledge to me.

Last edited by anirvan : 03 December 2012 at 10:11 AM. Reason: add

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario